Both applicants are required by law to appear in the Probate Court to obtain their marriage license. No Appointment is necessary.
Both applicants must provide a valid photo ID or birth certificate and know their social security number. All social security numbers are held in confidence and do not become a part of the Court’s public records.
Both applicants must swear, or affirm, that all information and testimony is true, correct, and complete.
Both must be at least 18 years old, not nearer of kin than second cousins, and not having a husband or wife living.
According to new legislation effective April 8, 2019, the Ohio Revised Code section 3101.02 states:
“(A) If both persons to be joined in marriage are the age of seventeen years, they may be joined in marriage only if the juvenile court has filed a consent to the marriage under section 3101.04 of the Revised Code.
(B) If only one person is the age of seventeen years, that person may be joined in marriage only if both of the following apply:
(1) The juvenile court has filed a consent to the marriage under section 3101.04 of the Revised Code.
(2) The other person to be joined in marriage is not more than four years older.”
If you are getting married in the State of Ohio and are a resident of Ohio you must obtain your license within the county where either applicant resides. The license is valid anywhere in the State of Ohio. If you are not a resident of Ohio, but are getting married in Ohio, you must obtain your license in the county where the ceremony will take place.
If the marriage ended in divorce or dissolution, the applicant(s) must provide a certified copy of the most recent divorce/dissolution decree.
Applicants are not required to produce copies of death certificates, but must know the date of death.
No, after the application is accepted there is no waiting period to receive the license. The license is valid for 60 days from its date of issuance. However, if you reside out of State or a minor, there is a five (5) day waiting period.
How do we get a certified copy (proof of marriage) of our marriage abstract?
If the Marriage License was issued in Guernsey County, Ohio, a certified copy (proof of marriage) of the marriage may be obtained from the Probate Court. The cost is $2.00 for each certified copy.
The fee for the license is $50.00. Cash or check. The Marriage License fee is non-refundable.
Only an ordained or licensed officiant who is registered with the Secretary of the State of Ohio, a Municipal or County Court judge, or the mayor of any village.
To find out if your minister is registered with the Secretary of State, call (877)-767-6446 or visit http://www.sos.state.oh.us/SOS/recordsIndexes/MinisterLicense/licensing.aspx
Court of Common Pleas Probate Division
Court of Common Pleas Juvenile Division
Monday to Friday
8:30 A.M. to 12:00 P.M. – 1:00 P.M. to 4:00 P.M.
Phone: (740) 432-9262
Fax: (740) 439-5278
Probate Court Division Staff
Peter Cultice, Magistrate
Patricia A. Nichols, Court Administrator
Deana Schick, Deputy Clerk
Brenda Allen, Deputy Clerk
Common Pleas Court
Guernsey County Courthouse
801 Wheeling Ave.
Cambridge, Ohio 43725